Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Award Recipients 2014



The Parker J. Palmer Courage to Lead Award honors designated institutional officials who have demonstrated excellence in overseeing residency programs at their sponsoring institutions. Designated institutional officials, or DIOs, have authority and responsibility for all graduate medical education programs in a teaching hospital, community hospital or other type of institution that sponsors residency programs. The ACGME congratulates the recipients of the 2014 Courage to Lead Award.



Linda M. Famiglio, MD

Designated Institutional Official Geisinger Health System Danville, PA

Nominators had this to say:

"In carrying out the various functions as Chief Academic Officer, Dr. Famiglio has fostered a commitment to excellence by successfully inculcating the organization's strategic commitment to quality and innovation into the

entire spectrum of medical education. At one level, she has infused meaningful content about quality and improvement into the curriculum at all stages of medical education, ranging from didactics during orientation to ensuring that learners, including residents, are active participants in the ongoing quality improvement teams and projects throughout the System."

"In implementing her vision, Linda constantly demonstrates courage to lead, advocate and act for what is fundamentally a change in the culture of how graduate medical education is perceived, valued and received in this institution. She is the only practicing physician-educator who sits at the table of the most senior-level leadership at Geisinger. As such, she is the sole proponent and activist for medical education and education reform, per se.